Maggie: A Girl of the Streets

The Waves (Wisehouse Classics Edition)

Virginia Woolf – –

THE WAVES is a 1931 novel by Virginia Woolf. It is considered her most experimental work, and consists of soliloquies spoken by the book’s six characters: Bernard, Susan, Rhoda, Neville, Jinny, and Louis. Also important is Percival, the seventh character, though readers never hear him speak in his own voice. The soliloquies that span the characters’ lives are broken up by nine brief third-person interludes detailing a coastal scene at varying stages in a day from sunrise to sunset. As the six characters or “voices” speak Woolf explores concepts of individuality, self and community. Each character is distinct, yet together they compose a gestalt about a silent central consciousness.

Title: The Waves (Wisehouse Classics Edition)
Author: Virginia Woolf – –
Translated by: –
Illustrated by: –
Language: English
Imprint: Wisehouse Classics
Series: –
ISBN13: 978-91-7637-513-6
ISBN10: 91-7637-513-7
Publication Date: 2020-01-01
Paperback Price: 20,56 – USD /16,44  – EUR /13,97  – GBP
Book Type: hardcover
Page Count: 124

Look up on
Look up on Barnes & Noble
Look up on Book Depository
Look up on
Look up on IndieBound
Look up on booktopia

Pin It on Pinterest