Darryl Wimberley

DARRYL WIMBERLEY has been recognized for both novels noir and literary work. A Tinker’s Damn won the ForeWord Award for “Best Literary Novel” in 2001. The King of Colored Town was the first novel to garner the Willie Morris Award for Fiction in 2007. Darryl writes, works, and lives with his family in Austin.

Look up Darryl Wimberley’s website here…

Literary & Historical Novel

A Seeping Wound, a literary novel, Wisehouse/l’Aleph, 2016

Paul Bunyan, a historical novel, Wisehouse/l’Aleph, 2015

The King of Colored Town, a literary novel, The Toby Press, 2007, The Willie Morris Award for Fiction, 2007

PUBLISHER’S WEEKLY: …Wimberly’s grasp of storytelling is admirable, as Carter faces a series of moral conflicts, eventually comes to understand the tragic secret his father holds and accepts his own part in the painful past.

KIRKUS REVIEW:  Wimberley turns from mysteries (A Rock and a Hard Place, 1999, etc.) to mainstream fiction with fine results: characters to empathize with, and the kind of solid, no-nonsense storytelling altogether too rare these days.

A Tinker’s Damn, a literary novel, MacMurray & Beck Publishers, 2000, ForeWord Award, Best Literary Novel, 2001

PUBLISHER’S WEEKLY:  Wimberley’s take on the prickly themes of racism and poverty is made memorable by a gripping story line, authentic voice and dead-on dialogue

KIRKUS REVIEW:  Wimberley (Strawman’s Hammock, 2001, etc.) paints complex characters against a backdrop of brutally violent racial oppression … Truly heartfelt storytelling.

Reviewed by Booklist and the New York Times

Novel Noir

Devil’s Slew, novel noir, St. Martin’s Minotaur, 2011 Reviewed by Booklist

Kaleidoscope, novel noir, The Toby Press, 2008

Pepperfish Keys, novel noir, St. Martin’s Minotaur, 2006 Reviewed by Booklist

Straw Man’s Hammock, novel noir, St. Martin’s Minotaur, 2001 Reviewed by Booklist

Dead Man’s Bay, novel noir, St. Martin’s Minotaur, 2000

A Rock and a Hard Place, a novel of suspense, St. Martin’s Minotaur, 1999


The Cellar, Feature Film, Indian Neck Productions, 1987

The Radicals, Feature Film, Sister and Brother Productions, 1986

No Pain, No Gain, a feature film, Zukor Productions, 2004

Paul Bunyan
A Seeping Wound

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This